The Church at the I-Beam, San Francisco CA [August 5, 1986]

 

Today’s post concerns an early assignment as a free-lancer after arriving in the Bay Area, and making contact with the local music newsletter/magazine, BAM Magazine. As “alternative” performers came through town in the mid-80s, I would get first crack at covering them, since most photographers on staff were only interested in the big names that would appear at the larger venues. I was especially keen on seeing new, and less-known performers in clubs, where the sound was much more likely to be mixed well, and so I would often get to cover groups, such as The Church, as they would pass through.

On this occasion, the editor asked if I wanted to see the band and bring back some snapshots, and while their earlier catalog didn’t do much for me, their most recent release, “Heyday”, was getting a lot of attention on college radio stations, so I was curious to check them out.

Marty Wilson-Piper, on the left, and Peter Koppes on the right.

I took my usual position, at the lip of the stage, nearly in the center, and tried to get by without using a flash.  For the most part, it was a successful set of images, although a bit dark, for some of them.

The set, itself, was enjoyable enough, but somehow I was expecting a bit more energy in the performance.  Instead, the musicians just concentrated on their instruments, and weren’t seemingly very interested in a “show”, as it were.

Marty Wilson-Piper appears in both stills, along with Steve Kilbey on bass.

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Peter Koppes closeup dark LG [The Church

Peter Koppes on guitar

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Steve Kilbey closeup vertical LG [The Ch

Steve Kilbey on bass guitar

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Richard Ploog on drums LG [The Church -

Richard Ploog behind the kit, and in the shadows, as it were.

Marty Wilson-Piper, at different points during the show.

While I wasn’t particularly impressed with this performance, I am a huge fan of the lp they released next, “Starfish”, a beautifully composed and produced release, which sounds as great today, as it did on its first issue.

The Church discography link

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Peter Koppes closeup head down posterize

Peter Koppes

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Peter Koppes closeup head down LG [The C

Peter Koppes

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Marty Wilson-Piper soloing LG [The Churc

Marty Wilson-Piper solos

Links related to The Church:

The Church official website

Set list for this particular show [not guaranteed to be accurate]

Hope you enjoy the few images that I captured on this occasion.  Constructive criticism is always welcome, and should you wish to contact me, you can do so at:

michaelconen@tutanota.com

NOTE:  A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE WATERMARKS ON MY WORK

While many of you who arrive here, to look at these photographs may get turned off to my use of watermarks [thinking they ruin the image], let me explain why I choose to do this.

No one paid for my camera equipment but me. No one paid for the film I used to take these photographs.  On occasion, when I free-lanced for a free monthly newsletter, and they published a photo of mine, the payment for each photograph barely paid for the fuel to get my vehicle to the show [when I *did* have a vehicle], and the film I used on that night. 

Not too many of my photos were published, at the time, because the artists I chose to capture images of, were not hugely popular then.  Hence, the old dictum, “Supply and Demand”; I had the supply, but the demand [pre-Internet], was not there. You can argue the relative merits of the quality of my work, and that is precisely what a blog offers:  a venue for discussion.

Back to the watermarks: no one is subsidizing my time to scan and then clean up the images I am presenting here. Start to finish, each negative will take approximately an hour-and-a-half to reach “proof” quality – which is what you will see here.  This is my labor of love, and until there is some measurable return on my efforts, what you see is what you get.

Leave a Reply

