“Where Were You?” Chris & Cosey – Wolfgang’s, San Francisco CA [May 8, 1986]

 

Another in a series of performances that were considered “experimental” in nature, that I covered for a Bay Area publication, but were not chosen to be published, at the time.

I never saw Throbbing Gristle perform, as I did not live in the area when they were still active, but I did manage to attend an in-store featuring Psychic TV, another offshoot of the aforementioned collective [TG].  That was a strange experience, as I had just returned from a flight, back east, after attending a performance the evening before by Rank and File, until the wee hours, and went straight to the listening party for the latest release of the 12″ Single of “Godstar”, if memory serves….

The combination of jet-lag, the lack of sleep, and the effects of the previous evening’s imbibing, left my senses unprepared for the atmosphere encountered at the in-store appearance.  It was slightly surreal, but nonetheless enjoyable/memorable…. but, I am straying from the Chris & Cosey performance.

This evening was comfortably packed, and I was lucky to choose a decent angle for photographing the show from.  I was once again forced to use a flash, as the duo chose low lighting to work with, and my one regret was that I was unable to capture any shots with the video footage that was shown at different points during the performance, due to my position at the lip of the right-hand side of the stage.

Compared to much of the output of TG and Psychic TV that I was familiar with, at that point in time, Chris & Cosey were quite sedate, and pleasantly so.

Enough of my words, and on to the photographs for your viewing pleasure:

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter bright [Chris & Cosey - Wol

The one and only completely clear shot of Mr. Carter on this eve

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti horizon

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Cosey Fanni Tutti vertical no 2 [Chris &

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti bright

One of the few shot of both artists in one frame that worked

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti horizon

Closeup with harsh lighting

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Cosey Fanni Tutti dark closeup singing [

Slightly closer, with horn in hand

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti dark ho

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti dark ho

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Cosey Fanni Tutti closeup no 3 [Chris &

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti horizon

Another bright image of the duo

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Cosey Fanni Tutti clasps mic stand singi

One of the more satisfying images captured

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti dark ho

Michael Conen - [PROOF] Chris Carter & Cosey Fanni Tutti horizon

 

To become acquainted with Chris & Cosey’s previous, and current activities, begin here:

Chris & Cosey or Carter Tutti OFFICIAL

 

Of course, a quick search on Wikipedia would also give you a great deal of information on their work, and with their numerous collaborators over the years:

Chris & Cosey at Wikipedia

 

 

 

NOTE:  A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE WATERMARKS ON MY WORK

While many of you who arrive here, to look at these photographs may get turned off to my use of watermarks [thinking they ruin the image], let me explain why I choose to do this.

No one paid for my camera equipment but me. No one paid for the film I used to take these photographs.  On occasion, when I free-lanced for a free monthly newsletter, and they published a photo of mine, the payment for each photograph barely paid for the fuel to get my vehicle to the show [when I *did* have a vehicle], and the film I used on that night. 

Not too many of my photos were published, at the time, because the artists I chose to capture images of, were not hugely popular then.  Hence, the old dictum, “Supply and Demand”; I had the supply, but the demand [pre-Internet], was not there. You can argue the relative merits of the quality of my work, and that is precisely what a blog offers:  a venue for discussion.

Back to the watermarks: no one is subsidizing my time to scan and then clean up the images I am presenting here. Start to finish, each negative will take approximately an hour-and-a-half to reach “proof” quality – which is what you will see here.  This is my labor of love, and until there is some measurable return on my efforts, what you see is what you get.

Leave a Reply

