“Where Were You?” Townes Van Zandt at The Great Midwestern Music Hall in Louisville, Kentucky [May 3, 1978]

 

Another show with a very few ‘salvageable’ images to present.  This was within the first year of my owning my camera equipment, and I was just learning how to deal with small clubs, dim lights, smoke, and slow film.  So, chalk it up to a learning experience.

 

I had been aware of Mr. Van Zandt since just before my college days, thanks mainly to Emmylou Harris, and would hear a lot more about him from some of my peers there, and when this show was announced, I thought it only natural to go and see him perform in a small, intimate environment. The Great Midwestern hosted a slew of great singer-songwriters, bluegrass and folk musicians, as well as the occasional Jazz show [saw a very good Larry Coryell, Alphonse Mouzon, Miroslav Vitous trio performance there, in October, of the previous year].  I had also been going through a phase of checking out a lot of the artists on the Tomato Records label, at about this point in time [see Mr. Owen Cody wearing the label t-shirt in an image or two here], and since each lp I had listened to impressed me, I knew I should attend this show.

 

Unfortunately, as evidenced by these photographs, I did not get to the show early enough to score a table anywhere near the stage, and since I was never one to “push myself on others”, I had to be content with taking the snapshots from a distance – and with a flash.  Since I was in the learning stages with assessing the available light, and not being able to push the film very much, I came away with so-so results.

 

The show itself was very enjoyable, as the crowd was very respectful of the performers, given the fact that it was a drinking establishment, and the sound mix there, as always, was very solid.  Just a shame that these images weren’t any better……

 

Mr. Owen is much clearer at this angle and side of the stage

Mr. Cody is much clearer at this angle and side of the stage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The only frame that would capture all three performers, but admittedly, not in a crisp or preferred moment

The only frame that would capture all three performers, but admittedly, not in a crisp or preferred moment

 

 

Constantly moving as he sang, there was an odd reflection from the flash that bounced back into the frame, making a clear shot nearly impossible

Constantly moving as he sang, there was an odd reflection from the flash that bounced back into the frame, making a clear shot nearly impossible

 

 

Michael Conen -  Townes Van Zandt, Danny "Ruester" Rowland and Owen Cody horizontal 3 [The Great Midwestern Music Hall, Louisville Ky 5-3-78]

 

For more information on Mr. Van Zandt, you could begin here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Townes_Van_Zandt

An additional site cataloging much of his recording and touring career:

http://uspest.org/coopl/tvzschedold.html

 

NOTE:  A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE WATERMARKS ON MY WORK

While many of you who arrive here, to look at these photographs may get turned off to my use of watermarks [thinking they ruin the image], let me explain why I choose to do this.

No one paid for my camera equipment but me. No one paid for the film I used to take these photographs.  On occasion, when I free-lanced for a free monthly newsletter, and they published a photo of mine, the payment for each photograph barely paid for the fuel to get my vehicle to the show [when I *did* have a vehicle], and the film I used on that night. 

Not too many of my photos were published, at the time, because the artists I chose to capture images of, were not hugely popular then.  Hence, the old dictum, “Supply and Demand”; I had the supply, but the demand [pre-Internet], was not there. You can argue the relative merits of the quality of my work, and that is precisely what a blog offers:  a venue for discussion.

Back to the watermarks: no one is subsidizing my time to scan and then clean up the images I am presenting here. Start to finish, each negative will take approximately an hour-and-a-half to reach “proof” quality – which is what you will see here.  This is my labor of love, and until there is some measurable return on my efforts, what you see is what you get.

One response to ““Where Were You?” Townes Van Zandt at The Great Midwestern Music Hall in Louisville, Kentucky [May 3, 1978]

  1. Pingback: Doc & Merle Watson at The Great Midwestern Music Hall, Louisville KY [August 4, 1977] | michaelconen "where were you?"·

Leave a Reply

