The Flaming Lips at The I Beam, San Francisco [December 17, 1985]

 

Well, wouldn’t you know it?!  As I go through the archives of negatives, I am surprised sometimes by what I discover……

 

I had forgotten all about who was the opening act for The Jesus and Mary Chain, when they appeared at The I Beam, in SF, back in ’85, but as I was looking at some negatives in my files, I couldn’t help but notice the image of this guy playing bass guitar, with some wild-looking hair.

 

At first, I thought it was a member of one of the many opening acts I’d seen – and photographed – from the Bay Area shows I’d attended over the years.  But, upon closer inspection, it began to dawn on me that this might be Mr. Ivins from The Flaming Lips, so that got me taking a deeper look at the strip of negatives, and the next clue that I was on the right track, came from Wayne Coyne’s striped shirt – looking like the very same one he was wearing at a performance of the band that I photographed, the following year, at the same venue. https://michaelconen.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/96/

 

The final, and confirming clue, came from the guitar amp, and its specially-graffitied front, behind Mr. Coyne, in one of the other images.

 

As I said, I’d forgotten that they’d opened the show, and so, after a bit of research on the web, the negatives were indeed from their set opening for JAMC.  I usually made a practice of photographing opening bands, even if it meant just a few frames – just in case!  This is what happened on this night. I only took about 10 frames, so that is why there are so few images to share, but, at least, there is something to see!  I’m quite happy with about half of them, considering that I had to use a flash [anyone who has read my other posts, knows I am not a fan of using the flash equipment, unless absolutely necessary].

 

Enjoy, and feel free to comment!

 

Both Wayne Coyne and Richard English in the frame for this one

Both Wayne Coyne and Richard English in the frame for this one

 

 

Early on, and Mr. Ivins is fairly sedate, standing off to the side of the narrow stage

Early on, and Mr. Ivins is fairly sedate, standing off to the side of the narrow stage

 

 

Not much room to get a clear angle on Mr. English, between the different parts of his kit

Not much room to get a clear angle on Mr. English, between the different parts of his kit

 

 

Michael Conen -  Wayne Coyne vertical [The Flaming Lips - I Beam

 

 

One from afar, with the ever-present PA monitor suspended in the corner

One from afar, with the ever-present PA monitor suspended in the corner

 

 

Too close for this one, but it serves to confirm it is Mr. Coyne, with the "Punk" sticker on his guitar

Too close for this one, but it serves to confirm it is Mr. Coyne, with the “Punk” sticker on his guitar

 

 

Got lucky with this image - just wish I could have magaged the shot all of the way to the floor!

Got lucky with this image – just wish I could have managed the shot all of the way to the floor!

 

 

Decent frame of Wayne Coyne in front of his rig

Decent frame of Wayne Coyne in front of his rig

 

This would seem to be the official Flaming Lips website, or at least an active one, with the latest news….
http://www.flaminglips.com/

NOTE:  A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE WATERMARKS ON MY WORK

While many of you who arrive here, to look at these photographs may get turned off to my use of watermarks [thinking they ruin the image], let me explain why I choose to do this.

No one paid for my camera equipment but me. No one paid for the film I used to take these photographs.  On occasion, when I free-lanced for a free monthly newsletter, and they published a photo of mine, the payment for each photograph barely paid for the fuel to get my vehicle to the show [when I *did* have a vehicle], and the film I used on that night. 

Not too many of my photos were published, at the time, because the artists I chose to capture images of, were not hugely popular then.  Hence, the old dictum, “Supply and Demand”; I had the supply, but the demand [pre-Internet], was not there. You can argue the relative merits of the quality of my work, and that is precisely what a blog offers:  a venue for discussion.

Back to the watermarks: no one is subsidizing my time to scan and then clean up the images I am presenting here. Start to finish, each negative will take approximately an hour-and-a-half to reach “proof” quality – which is what you will see here.  This is my labor of love, and until there is some measurable return on my efforts, what you see is what you get.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

