“Where Were You?” The Flaming Lips at The I-Beam, San Francisco [May 5, 1986]

Since I am busy rebuilding a blog that went down, on another site, and the bandwidth is being squeezed in a big way, from where I sit, I will do a quick re-posting of one half of the bill on May 5, 1986…..

This night would have both The Flaming Lips, and The Three Johns appear.  From the Lips, the lighting would be a bit darker, and since I always avoided flash, whenever possible, the results were mixed.

Here are the few pictures that turned out alright, from that short, but sweet set.  They were often billed at the I-Beam, in those early days, and I must have seen them at least three times in that period.  So far, these are the only photos I have unearthed from those dates.

NOTES: No comments added this time, as the bandwidth was playing games with my efforts, and I do not wish to waste another hour or two re-doing the post…..

Enjoy the photographs of Wayne Coyne [guitar and vocals], Michael Ivins [bass guitar and vocals], and Richard English [drums]

Here are the three previously unseen images from the show:

One of two images from the few times Mr. Coyne would be somewhat motionless

Not as clear as the others, but I like the movement, anyhow, as Mr. Ivins plays

One of a few that I worked on later than the others. I like the shadow in this one, even if it isn’t entirely framed “whole”

The rest, which some have seen before……

    

 
 
                  
This would seem to be the official Flaming Lips website, or at least an active one, with the latest news….
http://www.flaminglips.com/

NOTE:  A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE WATERMARKS ON MY WORK

While many of you who arrive here, to look at these photographs may get turned off to my use of watermarks [thinking they ruin the image], let me explain why I choose to do this.

No one paid for my camera equipment but me. No one paid for the film I used to take these photographs.  On occasion, when I free-lanced for a free monthly newsletter, and they published a photo of mine, the payment for each photograph barely paid for the fuel to get my vehicle to the show [when I *did* have a vehicle], and the film I used on that night. 

Not too many of my photos were published, at the time, because the artists I chose to capture images of, were not hugely popular then.  Hence, the old dictum, “Supply and Demand”; I had the supply, but the demand [pre-Internet], was not there. You can argue the relative merits of the quality of my work, and that is precisely what a blog offers:  a venue for discussion.

Back to the watermarks: no one is subsidizing my time to scan and then clean up the images I am presenting here. Start to finish, each negative will take approximately an hour-and-a-half to reach “proof” quality – which is what you will see here.  This is my labor of love, and until there is some measurable return on my efforts, what you see is what you get.

4 responses to ““Where Were You?” The Flaming Lips at The I-Beam, San Francisco [May 5, 1986]

  1. Pingback: The Flaming Lips at The I Beam, San Francisco [December 17, 1985] | michaelconen "where were you?"·

  2. Wow… those are some awesome photos!! i would have killed to have been able to go to an early Lips gig… Probably would have been hard to make it to this one seeing as I would have only been 1 year old… Now that’s scary!

    Thanks for sharing your great photos Michael!

    Like

    • Taken by sound,

      Thanks for taking the time to comment on the pictures. Much appreciated! I know what you mean about wishing you could be there: so many shows happened when I was too young to get into the bars, in my mid-to-late teens, that I ached to see, but could not….. At least now, in the digital age, “some” of those moments are available to see and hear, which softens the blow, a little bit, anyway 😉

      Happy New Year!

      Michael

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Three Johns, at The I-Beam, San Francisco [May 5, 1986] | michaelconen "where were you?"·

Leave a Reply

